Phil Lesh & Friends

Jackie Greene's Back To Birth Tour Continues Through 2016




 “These days, Jackie Greene is out and about, in a town near you, with a lovely, lyrical new record of songs from the heart.” –No Depression
 “Back To Birth…is an apt display of Greene’s vibrant songwriting and deft skills on multiple instruments.” –Paste
“Rock ‘n’ roll rings out in the Roots on Back To Birth…” – The Alternate Root

Acclaimed singer/songwriter/guitarist/musician Jackie Greene has released a deluxe edition of his newest album, Back To Birth, and with the announcement of new dates today his album release tour now extends in to its second year. Available as a digital only release the expanded version of the album features four new tracks including the first studio recording of fan favorite “One Bad Love,” which was originally released in 2012 as a music video: “One Bad Love” Video

Back To Birth is Greene’s first album in five years and he has been on tour non-stop for over a year to support its original release in August 2015. The tour will continue through the end of the year with shows from coast to coast and north to south with runs through Northern California, Colorado, Midwest, the Northeast and South including stops in cities that he rarely performs in. A complete list of confirmed dates are listed below and there are still more to be announced.

Earning his reputation as a musician’s musician, Greene stayed quite busy during the period between his previous album, Til The Light Comes (2010), and Back To Birth. Greene performed frequently as a member of Phil Lesh & Friends, mounted a tour with the trio WRG, consisting of Bob Weir, Black Crowes’ front man Chris Robinson, and himself.  In 2013, he became a member of The Black Crowes playing lead guitar for their Lay Down With Number 13 world tour, their last before disbanding in 2015.  Following the Crowe’s tour, he joined Trigger Hippy with Joan Osborne and Crowe’s drummer Steve Gorman and recorded and released the band’s debut album followed by an extensive tour.

Produced by Los Lobos member Steve Berlin, Back To Birth was recorded at Portland’s Supernatural Sound. The deluxe edition includes 15 songs and finds Greene stretching out on a number of instruments including guitar, piano, organ and drums. “A lot of these songs are looking at the notion of a cyclical existence, and the sense that life goes in a circle,” Greene observes. “I want the songs to come from a place that’s meaningful to me, but I also want to keep them as simple and direct as I can. I look at old blues songs, or Hank Williams songs, and they’re so simple and direct but they convey some pretty deep ideas.”

The Jackie Greene Band includes longtime associate Nathan Dale (Guitars, Vocals), Fitz Harris (Drums, Vocals) and Jon Cornell (Bass).  In addition to lead vocals and guitars, Greene plays piano and the B3.


Ticket Link


17 - Phil Lesh & Friends - Terrapin Crossroads - San Rafael, CA

21 - Infinity Hall - Norfolk, CT

22 - The Warehouse at Fairfield Theatre Company - Fairfield, CT

23 - Levon Helm's Studio - Woodstock, NY

24 - AMP at Strathmore - North Bethesda, MD


5 - The Grove at Red Lion Hotel - Sacramento, CA

6 - Petaluma Music Festival - Petaluma, CA

7 - Fulton 55 - Fresno, CA

11 - Bret Harte Hall - Felton, CA

12 - Sierra Nevada Big Room - Chico, CA (On Sale July 10th)

17 - Can't Stop The Train - Tribute to Jerry Garcia - The Fillmore, San Francisco,   CA - Benefiting The Rex Foundation and The Jake Peavy Foundation


10 - Stateside Amphitheatre at Jay Peak (with Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers) - Jay Peak, VT

14 & 15 - Phil Lesh & Friends - The Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk - Brooklyn, NY

18 - Castoro Cellars Beaverstock Festival - Templeton, CA

21 - The State Room - Salt Lake City, UT

23 - Mishawaka Amphitheater - Bellvue, CO

24 - Fox Theater - Boulder, CO

27 - Slowdown - Omaha, NE

28 - Redstone Room - Davenport, IA

29 - Hi-Fi - Indianapolis, IN


1 - Roots n' Blues n' BBQ - Columbia, MO

21 - Westcott Theatre - Syracuse, NY

22 - Brighton Music Hall - Boston, MA

25 & 26 - Brooklyn Bowl - Brooklyn, NY

29 - The Stone Pony - Asbury Park, NJ


4 - Terminal West - Atlanta, GA

5 - The Grey Eagle - Asheville, NC

6 - 3rd & Lindsley - Nashville, TN

Back To Birth (Deluxe Edition) - Available on iTunes

Track Listing:

  1. Silver Lining
  2. Now I Can See For Miles
  3. A Face Among The Crowd
  4. Light Up Your Window
  5. Trust Somebody
  6. Motorhome
  7. Hallelujah
  8. The King is Dead
  9. Where The Downhearted Go
  10. You Can’t Have Bad Luck All The Time
  11. Back To Birth
  12. Really Gone (bonus track)
  13. One Bad Love (bonus track)
  14. Jealous Man (bonus track)
  15. Little Bird (bonus track)


Impressive Phil Lesh & Friends Lineup To Play Two Nights At New Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk


LINK TO JAMBASE Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh is bringing a new version of his Phil Lesh & Friends ensemble to the brand new The Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk in Brooklyn September 14 and 15. Phil will be joined by guitarists Jackie Greene and Eric Krasno, drummer Alan Evans, keyboardist Neal Evans, multi-instrumentalists Karl Denson and Jason Crosby along with The Shady Horns for the Coney Island performances.

Phil’s lineup for the September shows isn’t far off from the version of Phil Lesh & Friends that opened Terrapin Crossroads’ The Backyard outdoor space last month including all three members of Soulive. Tickets go on sale to the general public this Friday, May 13 at 12 p.m. ET via Ticketmaster.

JAMBASE: Phil Lesh Teams With Soulive, Jackie Greene, Jason Crosby & Horns At Terrapin Crossroads


LINK TO ARTICLE ON JAMBASE. Phil Lesh’s Terrapin Crossroads venue in San Rafael, California presented the grand opening of its new Backyard outdoor space. A version of Phil Lesh & Friends featuring all three members of Soulive, keyboardist Jason Crosby, guitarist Jackie Greene and The Terrapin Horns headlined the concert with two sets and a lengthy encore.

The action started with a Cosmic Twang set that was heavy on Merle Haggard tunes and also included a take on “Ramble On Rose.” Soulive then treated the capacity crowd to a performance that mixed originals and covers such as Stevie Ray Vaughan’s “Lenny” and Jimi Hendrix’s “Third Stone From The Sun.”

Phil Lesh, Jason Crosby, Jackie Greene, guitarist Eric Krasno, keyboardist Neal Evans, drummer Alan Evans and a three-piece horn section opened their first set with a “Playing In The Band” sung by Jackie. Greene handled most of the lead vocals for the Phil & Friends’ sets. Songs performed in the opening stanza included the Beatles’ “Revolution,” The Rolling Stones’ “Get Off My Cloud” and takes on “Good Lovin’,” “New Minglewood Blues,” “Sugaree” and “Dancing In The Street.”

The ensemble focused more on Grateful Dead tunes such as “Shakedown Street,” “West L.A. Fadeaway,” “Viola Lee Blues,” “The Other One” and “Franklin’s Tower” in the second set. Greene also led the group through The Rolling Stones’ “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” while Phil & Friends worked an instrumental version of “Eleanor Rigby” into the set as well. The evening’s extended encore started with “Deal” > “Turn On Your Lovelight” and ended with covers of “Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues” and “Not Fade Away.”

Setlist (via

Set One: Playing In The Band, Good Lovin’, New Minglewood Blues, Get Off My Cloud, Sugaree, Revolution, Dancing In The Streets

Set Two: Shakedown Street > West L.A. Fadeaway, Satisfaction, Viola Lee Blues, Alligator > Jackie Rap > Eleanor Rigby > The Other One > Franklin’s Tower

Encore: Deal > Turn On Your Lovelight, Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues, Not Fade Away